Tags

, ,

Let me get this straight to start with. I am NOT one of these freaks who starts Christmas shopping in January. I get visibly disturbed (and not afraid to voice my displeasure) at shops displaying Christmas stuff in September. I do not believe that we need to spend a quarter of the year preparing for a 2 day holiday. And I don’t send Christmas cards (Happy Christmas to all my friends reading – don’t be offended! It’s not you, it’s me – I’m lazy!).

But Advent doesn’t really count as it starts at the beginning of December, so if you are making a calendar you will need some notice. Actually, Advent starts on the fourth Sunday before December 25, the Sunday from November 27 to December 3 inclusive, but this is a secular blog, so we won’t be pedantic here.

I thought I would showcase a few projects that I have come across in my search. This fab Advent Jar from the Just A Girl Blog is one of my favorites. Fill covered match boxes with tiny treats or challenges for your children. She has some great ideas here.

The lovely Stitch This made this beautiful creation, but make sure you give yourself plenty of time, so you are not frantically sewing the stars only a few days before each one is meant to be hung!

If you’ve got time and space this Advent Town will delight your kids (though perhaps not as much as a Buzz Lightyear one filled with cheap chocolate if your children are anything like mine).

Space and time are two things I am short of. However I am not short of origami paper so Origami Advent Calendar from Homemade Gifts Made Easy (now that’s my sort of website title!).

If you are even shorter on time and creativity, then I love this anti-poncey advent calendar:

