Tags

, , , ,

A while ago I posted about some works in progress. I finally finished my blanket-turned-lampshade-cover, and I do rather like it. The original lampshade was gold, and when the light was on the gold showed through and didn’t look right. I searched for ages for a white one in the usual places, Homebase, B&Q, Wilkos, Argos (yeah, we’re high end in this house!). But eventually eBay was to become my saviour, and a lampshade was swiftly delivered from The Lighting Warehouse. I crocheted the squares together essentially into a bandeau, no gluing, sewing or fixing. The crochet is just slipped over the shade.

It’s on a rather ugly uplighter at the moment, but I’m going to keep an eye out for a nice base.

MeMe Rose also wonders if she will ever make a blanket, and settles for a lampshade instead

My inspiration was from MeMe Rose, who is  soon going to think I am stalking her (the Irises I linked to previously were hers). She has enviable amounts of crochet in her house – well, I’m envious anyway!

