Tags

, , , ,

Oh look, it’s raining again. Look, I’m used to rain. I spent 5 years living in North Wales. I don’t let it confine me to the house. But what pisses me off the very most about our complete washout summer is the lack of ability to plan anything that requires it to, you know, not be raining.

We have already had to cancel a camping trip so far. Yes, we are fair weather campers, but really, there is nothing fun about being stuck in a tent, cold and damp with two children under 5. What sort of holiday is that. Not that I consider camping a holiday. Don’t get me wrong, I really like camping, but in order for something to be described as a holiday it has to meet certain criteria.

1) a phrase book should be required. This does not count.
2) there should be some sort of extreme weather, preferably sun, but snow is also acceptable.
3) there should be a body of water involved somehow, swimming pool, lake, ocean. Puddles do not count.
4) there must be a real bed to sleep in, not shared by either of my children.

So you see camping does not meet the criteria for a holiday, but it is a break at least. And the only one we can afford. But it is impossible to plan a trip for the summer.

Also most summer activities to keep children amused involve being outside, farm parks, theme parks, play parks. This is especially true for free or very cheap activities. As it is we will be spending most of the time at the library.

I love the seasons. The fresh crunch of autumn; cold but cosy winter; the feeling of rejuvenation that spring brings; and the welcome warmth and sunshine of summer, all the more coveted because of its scarcity. But it is times like this when I wish I lived in California, or somewhere else with eternal sunshine. There is something so cheering about the sun and blue skies. Even the drive to work is significantly improved by its morning rays, with the windows down and the Isley Brothers on the stereo.

But psychologists insist that people who live in sunny places are not happier than those who don’t. They call it the hedonic adaption, the theory that everyone has a set point of happiness, and while things like lottery wins, promotions, and sunnier climes might temporarily increase our happiness, pretty soon our happiness levels return to their state pre-change. As you life circumstances improve, so do your desires and expectations.

While I get the theory, I’m dubious of its veracity. I’m fairly certain that if you took away my money worries, I had a cleaner, and a glittering career, I would in actual fact be significantly happier. I’m sure people who have fled lives lived under the threat of domestic violence, brutal dictatorships or abject poverty, are in fact actually happier

And tell me that I would not be happier here

Ayada ocean villa, maldives

Yeah, I’d be totally fed up here after a while…

than here:

Home in the rain

