Yes, I know it is not the first day of Christmas, but why let that get in the way of a good post title!

 

Last night I manically finished my origami advent calendar. My previous post had some different ideas for homemade calendars and I went for the easy option, the origami one. It’s not quite as fancy as the one in my link, but it does look good. I haven’t added anything to hang it yet though.

The tutorial for the origami pockets is here. I used origami paper, but you could use an sort of paper, magazines, wrapping paper. I used stick on numbers from Hobbycraft. In each pocket is a piece of paper with an activity, mostly for Betty’s benefit (but a couple for us!).

 

Examples of activities are: Elf Yourself, watch a Christmas film, make reindeer cakes for the Christmas Fair.

I’m really pleased with it, though not sure about it’s longevity with the kids, being made of paper, but it was easy to make so nothing lost. The pockets are glued on to a large piece of foam board type thing, £2.50 from Hobbycraft.

 

Today’s activity is ‘Write a letter to Father Christmas’ which we will be sending here and awaiting our reply!

7 thoughts on “On the first day of Christmas my true love made for me…a calendar of origami

  1. That is lovely!

    Might try my hand at something like that, but likely I would mess it up.

    DS is still a bit young, but in next few years I’m thinking of making him a lovely advent calendar out of felt and fabric.

    Keep up the good work 🙂

Every time you read a post and don't comment a fairy dies.

