Apologies for the dreadful title. How long do you think before I get fed up with trying to make things rhyme!

In between frantic present making and buying I had time to make a quick yarn bomb. And this one really was quick. A string of crochet fairy lights. Tutorial here, though you barely need it as they are so simple to make. As you may have realised, I like quick and easy, and these took less than and hour. The biggest drag was sewing in all the ends. I tried just tying them off together but the knot broke when I tried to crochet them to the chain, so I swiftly abandoned that idea.

Crochet fairy lights

I was unsure how to secure them, so asked my Tweeps (Twitter peeps for all you Luddites) who suggested zip ties. It was only after googling them I realised they meant cable ties. WE CALL THEM CABLE TIES YOU WEIRDY TWEEPS!

I popped into Poundland and was distressed to find that none of their ties would fit around my intended post. It was only after a good five minutes that I realised I could join them up to make them bigger. I know, could I be more dense? Picked up a pack for, obviously, a pound. Yes Mr Chap on the Poundland till, I actually would like to add a pack of 3 Caramacs to my purchase.


Off to my target, which I had already marked using Google Earth. I picked a lamppost near the Art Gallery and Museum outreach centre. The actual museum and gallery is shut for major refurbishment. But they really liked the horse of theirs which I defaced, so I thought they’d appreciate it. They may be the only ones!


Shadow Stitch has initiated a Yarnvent Calendar, which she is trying to get other people involved in. How she has had the time in this busy season I don’t know. Don’t think I can get 24 out before Christmas but here is a start.

6 thoughts on “On the third day of Christmas my true love made for me…some crochet lights de fairy!

  1. Could you be more dense? Yes you could be as dense as me – I was wondering how you could put fairy lights on a lamp post when there was nowhere to plug them in!

Every time you read a post and don't comment a fairy dies.

