Inspired by the book Subversive Cross Stitch I decided to turn my hand to a new craft this week. I haven’t done cross stitch since I was about 12 and I was pleasantly surprised by how easy it is. The only thing is it requires quite a lot of concentration and attention to detail, neither of which are my forte.

First up in my show and tell today is the frame I did for my mum. Now my mum reads this blog so I have to say nice things about her…but seriously, I don’t think I appreciate her nearly enough. Well I certainly didn’t before having my own children, and she raised 3 mostly on her own. She is funny, supportive and a brilliant grandmother. And to top it all off she just bought me an iPad 3 for my birthday. She spends money on this sort of thing rather than a pension or a mortgage, so I’m going to be paying her back one way or another someday… In the mean time I hope she likes this.

20120317-121655.jpg

Next up is a card for my newly appointed step-mum. Between my rather bohemian parents I have had more step parents than I can often remember, but I think this one’s a keeper. She has none of her own children but has bravely taken on 3 children, 2 of who are teenage boys, and 2 grandchildren. I just wanted to mark the occasion for her. I hope she doesn’t think it is too weird.

20120317-122127.jpg

Finally I have a card for a lovely aunt who is sadly going through horrific treatment for cancer. There is nothing we can do to really help so at the very least I wanted to make her smile. I just hope she appreciated my sense of humour.

20120317-122342.jpg

And that’s all there is to say about that.

But happy Mother’s Day, not just to all you women with children, to step mothers, beloved aunts and women who care for anyone else.

9 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day

    1. Hey Dilly, chemo aunt here! Yes, thank you, I loved the card, it did seem a bit strange reading on the envelope that I ought to open it in private though! Wondered what on earth it could be! It certainly served it’s purpose and made me smile though – thank you xxx

    1. Thanks 🙂 No word from my aunt but she is currently in the middle of chemo. My very gruff and proper uncle alluded to the card, not sure what he thought…

      My step-mum rang and was very pleased. I must say I was quite pleased with myself on that one. My mum was also pleased too.

Every time you read a post and don't comment a fairy dies.

