Well, just one for now. After 2 years of looking up at generic Ikea paper lamp shades I decided it was time for a bit of creativity. I’d seen a few examples of crochet lampshades online and decided to give it a go. I managed to find two bargainous lampshades for £3.50 at a charity shop.

20120729-214451.jpg

I started by just crocheting a row of doubles around the bottom of the frame, which was pretty tricky.

20120729-214510.jpg

Crocheting with the frame between my legs was pretty cumbersome.

20120729-214534.jpg

It has taken quite a long time given that it’s not exactly a portable project.

20120729-214553.jpg

The stitch is shell stitch. I didn’t follow any sort of pattern, I just crocheted until it felt a bit loose then decreased a few stitches. I found a couple of good videos to show how to increase and decrease the shell stitch.

20120729-214614.jpg

I finished with a shell scallop around the bottom, which I fear makes it a bit twee (as if a crocheted lamp shade isn’t twee enough!). Twee isn’t really my style but it needed something to finish it off.

Crochet lampshade
Finished!
Crochet Lampshade
In situ

I’m really pleased with it. I still have another frame so I need to decide what I want to do with that one. Of course, I will keep you posted!

15 thoughts on “50 shades of crochet

  1. (I have to comment, I don’t want a fairy to die!)

    That’s WONDERFUL! We had some crochet-covered lamps in the last issue of Crochet Today, but we didn’t work over a frame like this. Yours looks great.🙂

    1. What were they like? I’ve seen some just covered or with crochet embellishments, both also nice. I have made one which is just a cover for the original lampshade. It started life as a blanket, but it wasn’t its destiny!

Every time you read a post and don't comment a fairy dies.

